Reopening borders for international tourism – updates from our collection in Africa and Latin America

2020-07-21T09:08:13-05:00July 16th, 2020|

Updated July 21, 2020


Tanzania: Tanzania has now reopened to international flights and has lifted its 14-day quarantine period for arrivals the country. Upon arriving in the country, visitors will be required to have their temperature taken, and there will be a range of specific health and safety measures taken on transport and at accommodation to protect against the spread of the Covid-19 virus. More details from Albatros Travel.

Kenya: Kenya is planning to reopen to international flights on August 1st. We don’t have definitive information on entry requirements (Covid-19 test, etc) but updates are expected soon.

Rwanda: Rwanda has announced that Kigali International Airport will reopen to commercial aviation on August 1st. Arriving passengers must present a negative COVID-19 test taken within 72 hours of arrival and then must take another test upon arrival, followed by quarantine in a local designated hotel (at their own cost) until results are made available – within 24 hours.

Uganda: Uganda has not announced a reopening date for international tourism as of July 17th.

South Africa: South Africa is working toward a September reopening for international tourism. More details here from Craig Smith at New Frontiers.

Zimbabwe: Zimbabwe’s national parks have reopened for local tourists but no date has been set for the resumption of international tourism.

Namibia: Negotiations continue in Namibia for a controlled low risk opening of borders, probably with a test-phase being planned in late July. More details as we have them.

Ethiopia: A 14 day quarantine in a government-approved hotel at your cost is required with or without proof of a negative RT-PCR COVID test taken within 72 hours prior to arrival. More details here.

Latin America

Belize: Belize’s international airport, the Philip Goldson International Airport (BZE), will be reopened to international flights on August 15. Arriving passengers who provide a certificate of a negative Covid-19 PCR test from within the last 72 hours, will be allowed immediate entry into Belize via a ‘fast track’ lane.
Arriving passengers without a negative Covid-19 test, must be tested upon arrival in Belize, at the passenger’s expense. A negative test result will allow entry into Belize. A positive test result will require a mandatory quarantine of at least fourteen (14) days at the passenger’s expense. More details from James Rogers at Maya Trails.

Guatemala: Guatemala has not announced a reopening date for international tourism as of July 17th.

Costa Rica: The Ministry of Health has announced the border closure will be extended until August 1, 2020. As of August 1, foreigners from countries that have “controlled the spread of the coronavirus” will be allowed to enter Costa Rica. The Minister did not state which countries would be included among this list but stated an announcement would be forthcoming. More details from the US Embassy in Costa Rica.

Ecuador: Ecuador approved resumption of commercial flight operations beginning June 1, 2020, with limited flight capacity. All arriving passengers must present a negative COVID test from within the last seven (7) days prior to arrival in Ecuador or undergo testing by Ecuadorian health authorities at the airport upon arrival or on subsequent days, as determined by the discretion of Ministry of Health personnel. As of July 17th, all passengers arriving in Ecuador will be required to comply with a mandatory 14 days quarantine regardless of their COVID test status. More details from Jascivan Carvalho at Tropic Ecuador.

About the Author:

Tad Bradley

Leave A Comment